Skip to main content

Abernathy Legacy Society

Dr. Ernest (Abe) and Janet Abernathy

Dr. Ernest (Abe) and Janet Abernathy were extremely well respected in the community and contributed generously over many years to a multitude of charitable causes, including the Community Foundation. 

Abe was a Founding Trustee of the Foundation and after he passed Janet served on our Board for many years. They were the first donors to commit in writing their intentions to make a bequest to the Foundation. In fact, Janet moved up the timeframe of part of the bequest and contributed $50,000 in 1999 and $50,000 in 2000 to help us at a time when our total assets were less than $500,000 and we were struggling to survive. At Janet's death, we received a $400,000 bequest.

The Abernathy Legacy Society recognizes donors who include the Washington County Community Foundation in their estate-planning, including a will or trust, IRA/401(k) designation, life insurance, charitable gift annuity, charitable remainder trust, charitable lead trust. 

Abernathy Legacy Society donors:

  • Dr. Ernest* (Abe) and Janet* Abernathy
  • Anonymous (multiple)
  • Alvin* and Carol* Berthold
  • Arthur Ciervo*
  • Madeline Corwin*
  • Judge Richard DiSalle*
  • Cecelia Dorazio*
  • Dr. Thomas* and Myrna Hart
  • Dr. Howard Jack*
  • Adda May Johnson
  • Charles* and Carol Keller
  • Mary Elaine Lozosky
  • Peter Matijevich
  • Sara Jane McCullough*
  • John and Rose Northrop
  • Joseph Perkins*
  • Jean Phelan*
  • Susan Sawyer*
  • Jack and Betsie Trew
  • Anna Varinoski*
  • Louis* and Shirley* Waller
  • Mona Rae Williams